Project Hospital
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Go down
beckah123
intern

[QUESTION] Overclocked CPU Empty [QUESTION] Overclocked CPU

Sun Nov 06, 2022 6:25 pm
Hi, I got a new laptop a little while ago, sometimes when I play project hospital it will blue screen and say I have an overclock error. Any idea's of how I can resolve it? My laptop attempts to take a windows error report but doesn't get past 0% so I have to force a shut down. It happens very randomly, sometimes I can play for hours with no issues and sometimes it will happen in the first 10 minutes.

Here's my laptop info:

CPU: 12th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-12500H   3.10 GHz
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 350

I'm not very tech savvy so if you could explain it super simply I would be very grateful!

Thanks Smile
jan.oxymoron
jan.oxymoron
developer

[QUESTION] Overclocked CPU Empty Re: [QUESTION] Overclocked CPU

Mon Nov 07, 2022 10:35 am
Hi, sorry to hear about your issue and thanks for letting us know!

This is the first time after a very long time that we heard about a problem related to overclocking (and the first time it's been reported on a laptop). Generally Project Hospital fully utilizes one core of your CPU to run the simulation plus other cores when needed, but this should be similar to how other games behave.

A couple of tips/possible workarounds:

- Could you check which power profile you're using in windows and choose a powersaving or balanced one? Maybe the laptop has issues running in max performance mode for an extended period of time.
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/change-the-power-mode-for-your-windows-pc-c2aff038-22c9-f46d-5ca0-78696fdf2de8